Dear All,

We trust that you are all well?

It’s time to get started with our 2019 SAJSBA National Season!!

Your 2019 Committee is as follows;
Chairman – Jono Rootman
Vice-Chairman – Terry Moore
Treasurer – Lorna Moore
Secretary / Marketing – Mandy Rootman
OD – Rob Niterl
Riders Representatives– Claude Newberry & John De Ponte
On Water Rescue / Starter – Peter Brits
Technical Directors / Harbous Masters – Pat Lees & Jared Moore

Race Officials;
Scorers – Lorna Moore, Mandy Rootman & Monnique Pead (Back-up Marcelle Rootman & Connie De Ponte)
Course Layout Officers – Jared Moore, & John De Ponte
Official Photographer – Channe Moore

2019 Race calendar: Dates in red are confirmed
March 23 – East Rand Boat Club, Benoni
April 20 & 21st – Port Elizabeth
May 18 – Hartbeespoort Dam
June 16 – Richards Bay
August 3 – Ballito Cable Ski Park
September 7 – Oranjeville

Please note: Accommodation & travel costs are for your own arrangement and cost for all
races excluding Port Elizabeth where we have a sponsor who covers accommodation and
provides a travel allowance. Further information will be provided on P.E. in due course.

Classes (These are the classes we could potentially offer. 3 or more riders constitutes a race,
1 or 2 riders only receive half points):

*Ski refers to a stand-up
*Sport refers to a Blaster 1 or 2 sitdown 800cc and below
*Runabout refers to a sit- down jet ski

Vets Runabout Open (35 – 49 years)
Masters Runabout Open (50years +)
Junior Ski Lites (8-14 years)
Novice Ski (15 + years 1
st year of racing)
Ladies Ski Lites
Ski Lites
Pro Ski Open
Junior Sport Lites (8-14 years)
Sport Lites
Sport Open
Junior Runabout Stock (8-14 years)
Novice Runabout Stock
Pro Runabout Stock
Pro Runabout Open
1100 Sport Class (Yamaha EX or See-Doo Spark)
Enduro Stock
Enduro Open

If you are unsure of the class that you will ride in, please click on the following link or copy and paste into your browser

Boat Numbering System – This is not negotiable!
According to the 2016 IJSBA Competition Rulebook the requirements for a boat number are as follows:

Racing number backgrounds must be clearly located on the hull. Please be careful not to place them in a location that will obscure them from the scorers (i.e., they should not be placed in the footwell or on horizontal surfaces).

Race number background sizes are as follows
Racing Number Background sizes
One digit . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20cm high by 15cm wide
Two digits . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20cm high by 23cm wide
Three digits . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20cm high by 30cm wide

Racing numbers must be a minimum of 18cm high, standard block-type numbers without shading or outlining must be used. It is the rider’s responsibility to ensure that the numbers are easy to read. If two or more riders using the same number enter the same class at the same event, all but one will be required to change their number. The person who completed first using that number, will have the right to keep that number.

Under SAJSBA rules you are required to have a black number with a white background. No ski will be permitted on the water unless these requirements are met. Backgrounds and numbers will be available for purchase from Lorna Moore at the 1st National race.

Not Negotiable!
All riders are required to have a medical form completed by their Doctor before the first race.

Season Licence Fees for 2019
SAJSBA Season License: R1000.00 this includes the affiliation fee to PSA.
You receive an official SAJSBA license card, these are arranged through Channe Moore.
Season licence form needs to be completed, medical form completed and signed prior to the first race, together with a copy of your ID and your medical aid card.

EFT payments
Please send the proof of payment to

Bank details:
Standard Bank
Account name: SAJSBA
Branch code: 013042
Account number: 021086427
Reference your name, Race entry (eg Terry Moore, Race Entry)

Race Day Entry fee
The committee would really like to try save time with race entry, so we are encouraging everyone to please do a pre-entry.

Pre-Entry fee (EFT and proof of payment sent no later than the Wednesday before the event together with all relevant forms) R400.00
Race Day Entry: R500.00 (Cash Only)

Your race day entry fee permits you to race 1 or more classes.
If your payment has not reflected into the SAJSBA bank account by the Wednesday before the race day, you will be asked to pay the day race fee in cash and once your EFT has come through this will be allocated to your next race.
Day License Only 2 Day Licenses per season per rider will be permitted

A day license is issued at R300 plus the race day entry.

EFT payments
Please send the proof of payment to
Bank details:
Standard Bank
Account name: SAJSBA
Branch code: 013042
Account number: 021086427
Reference your name, Race entry (eg Terry Moore, Race Entry)

Once we have received feedback as per the cover note, we will be in touch again with more

For any further information on SAJSBA please use

Many thanks
Kind Regards,
SAJSBA Committee